A glimpse of the past

The BONSILAGE success story began about 20 years ago, and SCHAUMANN has continued to create new, innovative biological silage additives ever since to match any ensiling situation and draw maximal benefit from your silages. Click below for more information about major milestones in the history of BONSILAGE.

Consolidating knowledge

BONSILAGE

“Getting more out of base feeds” – this is the key driver of the BONSILAGE success story. The development team of BONSILAGE contains experts from three companies within the Huelsenberg Holding:

  • SCHAUMANN provides sales expertise and knowledge of animal husbandry.
  • The ISF has the necessary expert knowledge and research capabilities in animal nutrition sector and feed preservation.
  • LACTOSAN is specialized in the area of microbiology.

Strain screening - Pioneering work and the foundation for every subsequent success

Bacteria

More than 20 years ago, the BONSILAGE Team started the comprehensive screening of lactic acid bacteria, and till now this is the main driver of our successful BONSILAGE program. Time and again since then they have been successful in intelligently combining bacterial strains to achieve optimum performance in specific silage situations.  


The performance efficiency of various strain combinations is researched using different forage qualities in lab scale and field trials. On the basis of the parameters gathered, further selections are carried out, until eventually an optimal combination of lactic acid bacteria is established.

Homo- or heterofermentative? Key to success is the combination

BONSILAGE PLUS

Initially it was exclusively homofermentative bacterial strains which were used to purposely control the fermentation processes in the silo. It was known that heterofermentative bacteria strains are capable of producing acetic acid, and were therefore in theory suitable for increasing the aerobic stability of silages. For the time being no-one had been successful in transferring these positive properties to a silage additive.

The BONSILAGE team broke the mold and reaped the rewards. The attempt to combine homofermentative bacterial strains with heterofermentative strains, brought ground-breaking success. BONSILAGE PLUS was the first silage additive to shift the  fermentation pattern to a controlled composition of lactic and acetic acid.

Market launch with distinction: 2 x BONSILAGE, 4 x DLG Quality Certification

Bacteria

In the year 2000 BONSILAGE was introduced to the market – the 2 variants, BONSILAGE and BONSILAGE PLUS, covered a broad spectrum of use and received an award from the DLG.


The BONSILAGE inoculant received DLG Quality Certification in group 1b, for improving fermentation in lower dry matter ranges. BONSILAGE PLUS received an award for its, at that time revolutionary, property of improved aerobic stability (Group 2), which protected silage from reheating. Other documented effects: improved fermentation in the upper DM range (1c), improved palatability and digestibility (4b).

Maize and CCM – at the heart of silage production

Maize silage

In 2003 continuous research work once again paid off: BONSILAGE found additional bacterial strain combinations, which very specifically focussed on the requirements of maize and CCM.


By using BONSILAGE MAIS the increased tendency for reheating in maize silages was very specifically reduced. Excellent results were achieved with the intensive acidification of BONSILAGE CCM in the corn-cob mix with aerobically stable and hygienically efficient silages.

Waging war on clostridia: BONSILAGE FORTE

BONSILAGE FORTE

2005 provided another milestone in the development of BONSILAGE. A strain combination was found which inhibited the proliferation of clostridia.

To date BONSILAGE FORTE is the only biological silage additive to have this feature, making it the product of choice for wet silages and those which are hard to ensile.

BONSILAGE SPEED – measurably faster ensiling

Homepage Speed

In 2017, the BONSILAGE team delivered yet another milestone in the development of silage additives. The new silage additive strain Lactobacillus diolivorans now allows energy-rich silage with excellent aerobic stability to be fed to animals after a mere two weeks.

BONSILAGE FIT – measurably improved cow fitness

Homepage Fit

BONSILAGE FIT forms glucoplastic components such as propylene glycol, which takes strain off the bovine metabolism at the beginning of lactation. This silage additive optimises the energy characteristics of silage and ensures high aerobic stability, which in turn helps manage feed-related diseases such as acidosis and ketosis.

Today – Europe’s No. 1 silage additive

BONSILAGE

BONSILAGE has in the meantime become the market leader in biological silage additives in Germany, Austria and other countries in Europe.

To date, in over 30 countries, more than 250 million tonnes of silage has been treated using various BONSILAGE products.

Historie - Entstehung und Entwicklung der BONSILAGE-Siliermittel

Die Erfolgsgeschichte von BONSILAGE begann vor rund 20 Jahren. Seitdem entstehen immer wieder neue innovative biologische Siliermittel, die auf jede Siliersituation angepasst sind und das Optimum aus Ihren Silagen herausholen. Die wichtigsten Meilensteine in der BONSILAGE-Geschichte finden Sie hier.

Der erste Schritt: „Wissen bündeln“

Logo Siliermittel BONSILAGE

„Mehr aus dem Grundfutter heraus zu holen“ – mit dieser Idee begann die Erfolgsgeschichte von BONSILAGE. Hinter der Entwicklung von BONSILAGE stehen Experten aus 3 Unternehmen der Huelsenberg Holding:

  • SCHAUMANN bringt Vertriebs- und Produktions-Kompetenz in der landwirtschaftlichen Tierhaltung ein.
  • Das Team der ISF Schaumann Forschung besitzt das notwendige Fachwissen und die Forschungseinrichtungen im Bereich der Tierernährung und Futterkonservierung.
  • LACTOSAN ist Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der Mikrobiologie.

Das Stammscreening - Pionierarbeit und Basis für den Erfolg

Bakterien für Siliermittel

Mit dem umfassenden Screening von ausgewählten Milchsäure-Bakterienstämmen legte das BONSILAGE-Team vor fast 20 Jahren den Grundstein für die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von BONSILAGE. Seitdem gelingt es immer wieder, Bakterienstämme so intelligent zu kombinieren, dass sie auch in besonderen Siliersituationen das Optimum erreichen.


Die Leistungsfähigkeit verschiedener Stammkombinationen wird bei unterschiedlichen Ausgangsmaterialien im Feld und im Labor untersucht. Auf Basis der erfassten Parameter erfolgt die Selektierung, bis schließlich die optimale Kombination von Milchsäurebakterien gefunden ist.

Homo- oder heterofermentativ? Das Geheimnis ist die Kombination

Logo Siliermittel BONSILAGE PLUS

Um die Gärprozesse im Silo gezielt zu steuern, bediente man sich anfangs ausschließlich homofermentativer Bakterienstämme. Über heterofermentative Bakterienstämme war zwar bekannt, dass sie Essigsäure bilden und damit theoretisch geeignet sind, die aerobe Stabilität einer Silage zu erhöhen. Doch es gelang zunächst Niemandem, diese positiven Eigenschaften wirkungsvoll auf ein Siliermittel zu übertragen. 


Das BONSILAGE-Team geht neue Wege und wird belohnt. Der Versuch, homofermentative Bakterienstämme mit heterofermentativen Stämmen zu kombinieren, bringt den bahnbrechenden Erfolg: Das erste Siliermittel, das ein Gärsäuremuster aus Milch- und Essigsäure einstellt, heißt BONSILAGE PLUS.

Markteinführung mit Prädikat: 2 x BONSILAGE, 4 x DLG-Gütezeichen

DLG-Gütezeichen für BONSILAGE-Siliermittel

2000 wird BONSILAGE am Markt eingeführt – die 2 Varianten BONSILAGE und BONSILAGE PLUS decken ein breites Einsatzspektrum ab und werden von der DLG ausgezeichnet.


Das Siliermittel BONSILAGE erhält für seine Verbesserung der Vergärung im unteren Trockenmasse-Bereich das DLG-Gütezeichen der Gruppe 1b.  BONSILAGE PLUS wird für seine zu diesem Zeitpunkt revolutionäre Eigenschaft der verbesserten aeroben Stabilität (Gruppe 2) ausgezeichnet, die die Silage vor Nacherwärmung schützt. Weitere ausgezeichnete Effekte: verbesserte Vergärbarkeit im oberen TM-Bereich (1c), bessere Schmackhaftigkeit und Verdaulichkeit (4b).

Mais und CCM - auf den Punkt silieren

Anschnittfläche einer Maissilage

2003 zahlt sich die kontinuierliche Forschungsarbeit erneut aus: Das BONSILAGE-Team findet weitere Bakterienstammkombinationen, die speziell auf Anforderungen von Mais bzw. CCM eingehen können.


Durch den Einsatz von BONSILAGE MAIS kann die zunehmende Tendenz zur Nacherwärmung bei Maissilagen gezielt reduziert werden. Die intensive Ansäuerung durch BONSILAGE CCM bringt bei Corn-Cob-Mix hervorragende Ergebnisse mit aerob stabilen und hygienisch einwandfreien Silagen.

Kampfansage für Clostridien: BONSILAGE FORTE

Logo Siliermittel BONSILAGE FORTE

2005 gelingt ein weiterer Meilenstein in der BONSILAGE-Entwicklung: Es wird eine Stammkombination gefunden, die die Vermehrung von Clostridien hemmt.

Bis heute ist BONSILAGE FORTE das einzige biologische Siliermittel mit dieser Eigenschaft und damit das Produkt der Wahl bei feuchten und schwierig zu vergärenden Silagen.

BONSILAGE SPEED – Messbar schneller siliert

Siliermittel BONSILAGE Speed - schneller silieren

2017 setzte das BONSILAGE-Team einen weiteren Meilenstein in der Entwicklung von Siliermitteln. Mit dem neuen Siliermittelstamm Lactobacillus diolivorans ist es möglich, energiereiche Silagen bereits nach zwei Wochen und mit einer sehr guten aeroben Stabilität zu verfüttern.

BONSILAGE FIT – Messbar mehr Kuhfitness

Siliermittel BONSILAGE Fit - mehr Kuhfitness

BONSILAGE FIT bildet glucoplastische Bestandteile wie Propylenglykol, die den Stoffwechsel der Kuh zu Beginn der Laktation entlasten. Das Siliermittel optimiert die Energie-Eigenschaften der Silage und sorgt für eine hohe aerobe Stabilität – Fütterungsbedingte Krankheiten wie Azidose und Ketose sind so beeinflussbar.

Heute - Europas Siliermittel Nr. 1

BONSILAGE Siliermittel

BONSILAGE hat sich mittlerweile in Deutschland, Österreich und weiteren Ländern Europas zum Marktführer bei den biologischen Siliermitteln entwickelt.


Bis heute wurden in über 30 Ländern mehr als 80 Mio. Tonnen Silage mit den verschiedenen BONSILAGE-Produkten behandelt.